Presidential Distinctions

Colleges and Universities select people to receive honorary degrees and serve as role models for our graduates. Honorary Degrees are not simply earned by a course of study or even a course of achievement. They are earned by making significant contributions to our society. The University of Miami has been awarding honorary degrees since 1927.

The Roberta “Bosey” Fulbright Foote Prize recognizes a member of the UM community—faculty, staff, student, or trustee—who has made a meaningful and lasting contribution to the beauty, humanity, and future of the campus. 

The University has established the Distinguished Presidential Fellows and Scholars initiative as part of its efforts to attract some of the world’s most celebrated and accomplished scholars and thinkers to interact with the University community. These individuals are invited to contribute their unique perspectives and talents to the University’s mission of fostering inquiry, expanding knowledge, and pursuing novel solutions to urgent issues.

The Cuban Heritage Collection (CHC) of the University of Miami Libraries seeks nominations and applications for the newly established Roberto C. Goizueta Distinguished Presidential Residence program that will welcome leading scholars and professionals from around the world, with expertise in a wide range of subjects aligned with the focus and scope of the CHC’s vast repository of materials and resources on Cuba and the global Cuban diaspora.